Dutch dinner!! - Reisverslag uit Bilbao, Spanje van Joyce Dooren - WaarBenJij.nu Dutch dinner!! - Reisverslag uit Bilbao, Spanje van Joyce Dooren - WaarBenJij.nu

Dutch dinner!!

Door: Joyce van Dooren

Blijf op de hoogte en volg Joyce

23 Februari 2015 | Spanje, Bilbao

Today we at to wake up at 6:45 AM again since it was a normal school day. I felt a bit more rested since we went to bed a lot earlier on Sunday night so I could get out of bed a bit better than the other days. We quickly went to downstairs to eat dinner and then upstairs again to get ourselves ready for school.

When we arrived to school Maitane brought me to the teacher"s room where we met Scott but since she had class she had to go very quickly. Since Scott did not have any class during the first hour we talked about the lessons that we would have that day and how we would approach them, since this week I will be involved more into the classes. After we did that we just talked about the weekend and stuff like that and then it was time to go to another building to give class to year 1, which were in Bacherilles, so 16 years old. This was the first class in which I had to do my small talk about the holiday that I had chosen, namely Sinterklaas. It went quite well and the students were also asking questions so it felt like they were quite excited about it. Then Scott did his presentation on Columbus day and then it was time for the students to prepare a small presentation about the Basque country for us, so we could learn some more about their culture. Something I noticed is that the students are quite proud of the fact that they are Basque, so they were also excited that they could share something about the thing that they are passionate about.
Sadly enough we did not have enough time for all the students to finish presenting, but from what I did hear, I already learnt a lot more about the Basque culture.

Then we had to go to the other building again where we did the same kind of class. Since the students still had to make a test because one of the teachers wanted to add an extra mark to their grade lists, we only had 30 minutes with each half of the class, we did not have that much time for the students to presents something themselves which was ashame. After that it was time for lunch which was really delicious! We had spaghetti with chicken and a banana, but the spaghetti and chicken were really good. After lunch I could spent the rest of my break with Maitane and her friends because I also had to go to Bacherilles for my next class. My next class was together with one of Maitane"s friends, so that was quite nice. We did the same thing again; I presented first, then Scott, then the students. This time, almost all the students got to do their presentations but since 3/5 groups talked about typical Basque sports, it was not that horrible that the last group did not get the chance to do theirs.

Then we had to go back to the other building again, where we would teach children who are in year 3. The children in that year all have iPads instead of books which was quite handy for the presentations that they had to do. I did notice that most of these students just copied stuff from the Internet and read it out loud in front of the class instead of reall discussing and thinking about the information that they were going to tell, but still, their presentations were very informative :).

Then it was time for the usual class to close the day; the five year olds in kindergarten. Today they were going to learn a new sound, the th. Since there are two different ways of pronouncing "th", which are quite similair, Scott and Audrey (a teacher who is from Canada and always has these classes together with Scott) decided to let the children hear them both so they could compare them. Before we started with the new sound, we started the class with the usual thing; most children are really surprised when they see they have a third teacher so they all start talking to me in Spanish. The fact that I cannot answer makes me feel quite bad but since they all asked me so many times, I do know "What is your name" is in Spanish right now, but Scott always makes them ask me in English which is really adorable. After that they all introduce themselves, but the names are really difficult for me to remember but I still try to remember a few. After that we did the shapes again, but this time without the song, so the children had to name the shapes themselves which went quite well. After that we sang twinkle twinkle little star again and then it was time for the two classes to split up. Audrey"s class would go somewhere and our class would stay in the same room because otherwise there are just too much children and then they could not pay attention. We started learning the new sound but we also repeated the old ones including their special movements so the children wont forget them. After that the children could go and paint some drawings that relate to the new sound (so for example a feather) but then it was time for me to go to dance class. Normally Maitane goes swimming on Mondays but her classmates organised a special dance class for me in which they would teach me some typical Basque dances. We did quite a few and even though I felt I was horrible, they said I learnt so quick and that I was doing quite alright. After that we went home and ate a snack and then we started doing homework.

For dinner tonight, Maitane"s mother decided to cook the "erwtensoep" and "rookworst" that I gave them together with some french fries. I was quite excited about it myself and so were they. Maitane and her parents liked both of them, but the "rookworst" was the crowd"s favorite. Since we had dinner quite late (at half past 9) we decided to go to bed shortly after dinner.

Agur!!!

Reageer op dit reisverslag

Je kunt nu ook Smileys gebruiken. Via de toolbar, toetsenbord of door eerst : te typen en dan een woord bijvoorbeeld :smiley

Joyce

Actief sinds 14 Feb. 2015
Verslag gelezen: 189
Totaal aantal bezoekers 5065

Voorgaande reizen:

15 Februari 2015 - 28 Februari 2015

International internship Bilbao

Landen bezocht: