Busy busy busy!!! - Reisverslag uit Bilbao, Spanje van Joyce Dooren - WaarBenJij.nu Busy busy busy!!! - Reisverslag uit Bilbao, Spanje van Joyce Dooren - WaarBenJij.nu

Busy busy busy!!!

Door: Joyce van Dooren

Blijf op de hoogte en volg Joyce

25 Februari 2015 | Spanje, Bilbao

Today was just another school day, but this one would be quite busy! We woke up at 6:45 AM again and we did just the usual stuff. Today´s weather was HORRIBLE, once again, so I quickly ran into the building to make sure I was on time for the first class.

In the first class we just did the same thing as we had done the previous days but these students came up with some really good ideas for their presentations; they wanted to it about Basque mythology, which was something that none of the groups had done before. When it was time to stop working on their presentations and actually present, Scott and I could not take the kids off the computers because they wanted to keep working on it that bad. So, that is why we decided that we would just let them working on it and they could show me the presentations later by video or just send them to me.

After that it was time for me to go to a class with Andrew, an English teacher from Ireland that I met at lunch on Tuesday, which was fun but also really different from the classes that I have seen with Scott. In the beginning the children had to repeat the vocabulary that they did the day before which was about cooking. Andrew made certain movements and then the students had to name which verb belonged to that movement, so cut, stir, pour etc. After that it was time for them to check a worksheet and then I got to introduce myself. A funny question came from a small boy who asked; how did you come here? and when I answered him that I came by plane he was so excited which was funny haha. After that they got to do an oral assignment on food and they had to look if it was countable or uncountable and then they had to make a correct sentence that belonged to it. After that two students had to do a presentation on what food is like for them; what is your favorite food, what do you have for breakfast, lunch, dinner etc. I was quite amazed when I heard them speaking because they already knew so much at such a young age (9!).

After that it was time to go back to Scott´s class, that already started since the time tables for both schools are a bit different. I quickly introduced myself and did my presentation about Sinterklaas and then it was time for them to get to work. This class had iPads so they could easily look up information and make a small presentation. Unfortunately, we ran out of time again so they could not present either.

After that we had a small break and lunch which turned out to be successive so we had some time to talk about the project that I might do instead of the report. After that it was time for me to go to meet Maitane and her friends and for Scott to go to the teacher´s lunchroom and then we would meet again at 12:30.

After that we had two classes with students who were about 16/17 years old. Something that is quite remarkable is that the older students normally go for the obvious topics, wheras the younger students really try to come up with something new. The younger students also seem to feel more passionate about being Basque than the older ones, which surprised me as well.

After these two classes it was time go to kindergarten again where we repreated the same sound was with the other classes we had earlier this week. Since I have been at Lauro for exactly one week right now, I saw these students earlier and most of them still recognised me which made me quite happy.

Then it was time to go swimming but I just did not feel like it. I was so tired and there were so many girls and I really felt like I was getting in their way since they go so much faster and I am close to drowning if I do the same swimming strockes as they do, so I decided to do some of them but I stayed at the side most of the time. They also practised some safety things, which I did do since it can always be useful for me as well.

After that we got home quickly, ate a snack and then it was time for Maitane to go to the hairdressers! It would not be a normal haircut but something a bit more exciting... she was going to cut off 30 cm to donate to charity, which was something I had also done before so I knew how exciting it was. Before we knew her hair was a lot shorter but we all loved it so much so I guess it is good now.

Luckily enough Maitane does not have any homework for tomorrow so we are probably (FINALLY) going to watch the Dutch film I bought for them so I am quite excited! Tomorrow will be my second last day at Lauro which makes me pretty upset.. but on one side it is also a good thing since that means I am going home soon.

Agur!!!

Reageer op dit reisverslag

Je kunt nu ook Smileys gebruiken. Via de toolbar, toetsenbord of door eerst : te typen en dan een woord bijvoorbeeld :smiley

Joyce

Actief sinds 14 Feb. 2015
Verslag gelezen: 153
Totaal aantal bezoekers 5073

Voorgaande reizen:

15 Februari 2015 - 28 Februari 2015

International internship Bilbao

Landen bezocht: