Last day at Lauro :( - Reisverslag uit Bilbao, Spanje van Joyce Dooren - WaarBenJij.nu Last day at Lauro :( - Reisverslag uit Bilbao, Spanje van Joyce Dooren - WaarBenJij.nu

Last day at Lauro :(

Door: Joyce van Dooren

Blijf op de hoogte en volg Joyce

27 Februari 2015 | Spanje, Bilbao

Today was kind of weird since I knew that it was going to be my last day at Lauro. On one side, I was very excited to be at the school for one extra day but on the other side I knew that it was going to be the last time. I decided to focus on my first thought and try to make it as good as possible :).

The first class we had was year 1 in Bacherilles. Scott and I decided to just continue with the acrostic poems since it worked well in the other classes. This class was super interested in why I was at Lauro and kept asking me questions while they were working which was lovely since I could really talk to them about the differences between my school and Lauro.

After that we had to go back to the other building since our second class would be there. Since Maitane´s class also invited me to come to their lesson for a small good bye lesson I had to hurry. First, quickly present for the students and then go back to bacherilles to go to Maitane´s class. While we were walking to their classroom Maitane and her friend, Leeire, kept saying things like; ooo I really do not get why you even need to come to this class because we are just going to sit there and do nothing. So I thought, well lets see I am sure I will be fine. But as soon as I walked in, I saw that all the tables were filled with food and drinks and everyone screamed SURPISE!!! I was so surprised and overwhelmed by the fact that they did this since it was so sweet!!! They even decorated the white board with several Dutch things!! In the 30 minutes that were still remaining I just talked with different classmates and we took some photos.

After that it was time for me to go back to the other building again because I would have another class. In this class we did the acrostic poem thing again which went alright :).

After that class we had a small break in which Scott and I just talked about several things. After half an hour he was exactly meant to have a meeting with the English department but since it never really took place (the leader of the meeting has been absent since September) he usually just stayed in his classroom to work on several things. However, this time he went to check if there was a meeting and.... there was one so he was too late. As soon as we could we walked to bacherilles and when Scott went inside for the meeting I decided to wait outside for Maitane and her friends so we could have lunch together. Something that caught my attention was the big difference between my first day and my last day at Lauro. While I was waiting for Maitane on my first day everyone just walked past me because they did not know me and today I had to keep saying Hi and giving high fives because I got to know so many people in the few days that I have been at Lauro. The lunch was soooooooo good since we had a really good lasagne.

When I finished my lunch, Scott had lunch so I went to the lunchroom with him to have lunch with the other teachers. Something that was pretty funny is that some teachers were talking about me because they thought I was a new teacher at Lauro haha. After introducing me to some other teachers, which is quite weird on your last day, it was time to go again to make sure we were on time for our last class. This class was super enthousiastic and wanted to know everything from me and about the Netherlands, which was quite funny. The acrostic poems they made were really really good so Scott and I decided to keep them so I could might use them later for the project that I have to make after I come home.

We still had an hour left at the kindergarten but since I knew that was going to be pretty busy I decided to already thank Scott at that moment. We promised that we would keep in touch by e-mail and since his wife and him were planning on making a trip through Europe one day, they would also try to visit the Netherlands so we might could meet up again.

Then it was time to go to the kindergarten, but before I went there I decided to take some photos of the school since it was not raining for ONCE! While I took my last photos it started raining again... so I was just in time. Then I went back inside and I felt bad about the fact that it was my last day since most of the children are really starting to recognise me right now and might even remember my name (some of them say John or Josu but at least they try haha). This class would look exactly the same as the one from the day before, so it was focused on the sound ´qu´. After that we played memory again which again was sooooooooooooo cute and adorable since they all start jumping and cheering and partying as soon as they found a pair. After that it was time to go and work on the worksheet that belonged to this sound. Then it was time to go.... which made me so upset, but I did not leave before I took a photo of the students and Scott (the Friday afternoon crew). Then it was time to go... but since Scott and I promised each other that we would keep in touch via e-mail and he was going to send me a card I knew that it would not be the last thing I would hear from him. I went downstairs to go Maitane so we could go, but then I realised that I forgot to say bye to Audrey. I really really really could not leave without saying bye to her so I quickly ran back and said good bye. Hearing all those kind words from people that you have not even known for that long makes me so upset and happy at the same time. But I knew that I could always send them an e-mail or something like that so I decided to NOT cry and walk downstairs to go to Maitane and her mother.

Since Maitane had French class afterwards and it took me quite some time before we got into the car because of my long lasting good bye we had to hurry. We got there in time and we practiced our French pronouncation. Her teacher told me that my pronouncation was really good and that if I would keep practicing I might would become a good French-speaker. But I had to dissapoint her with the fact that I dropped French a few weeks ago which made her quite upset haha.

After that it was time to go home, quickly drink something and head to Bilbao to go to Bilbo rock. Before we went there, we first walked through the city and we ate some delicious wafels with melted chocolate. After that it was time to go the building were Bilbo rock would take place. The reason why we went there was because one of Maitane´s friends, Narao, was going to perform. She performed a song by the red hot chilli peppers and linkin park and she did great! We stayed until the end of the night but since some of her friends left earlier I already had to good bye to them which was a pretty sad moment. When it ended at half past 11 we still did not have dinner yet!! Then Naroa´s father took us home and then we ate tortilla patatta at 12 o´clock. After that we finished watching the dutch movie so we slept at 2 o´clock.

Reageer op dit reisverslag

Je kunt nu ook Smileys gebruiken. Via de toolbar, toetsenbord of door eerst : te typen en dan een woord bijvoorbeeld :smiley

Joyce

Actief sinds 14 Feb. 2015
Verslag gelezen: 178
Totaal aantal bezoekers 5075

Voorgaande reizen:

15 Februari 2015 - 28 Februari 2015

International internship Bilbao

Landen bezocht: