First day of school at Lauro Ikastola - Reisverslag uit Bilbao, Spanje van Joyce Dooren - WaarBenJij.nu First day of school at Lauro Ikastola - Reisverslag uit Bilbao, Spanje van Joyce Dooren - WaarBenJij.nu

First day of school at Lauro Ikastola

Door: Joyce van Dooren

Blijf op de hoogte en volg Joyce

18 Februari 2015 | Spanje, Bilbao

Today we had to wake up at 6:45(!!!) in the morning because today would be the first day of school again after a long weekend and also the first real day of my internship. I was very nervous but as soon as I met Scott Lyons, the teacher I will be staying with for the upcoming two weeks, I knew it was going to be alright. We talked for a bit but then he had to and replace a teacher because his class was having exams and he needed someone to take care of them so he brought me to another room where I could do something for myself.

After that I had my first class which was with children aged 12-13. Since Scott is an oral teacher, it is his purpose to make the children talk as much as possible so he normally picks a topic that the children can relate to. Today we talked about the influence of social media, so whether is was good or bad. Sadly enough we only had enough time to watch the video with the "bad" perspective, but it was good either way.

After that we had some spare time and I met some other teachers from Lauro Ikastola and they were all very nice and excited even though not all of them knew English.

After that it was time for our break which is really different from here. The children go to a very big cantine where everyone has his/her own plate and they can just put the food they want on their plate. Today we had rice with seafood, schnitzel, crisps (which is weird since we ate it as a snack haha) and a yoghurt. I must say I prefer my own lunch which I usually bring to school when I am at home, but this was alright as well.

After that we had to give class to people who were the same age as I am which was very nice since they were really interested and nice so I got to talk with some of them a lot. After that we had to give class to people who are one year younger but Scott already told me that it is one of the most difficult classes since the students in that class are not really motivated to do anything for school and you could really see that when you compared them to the other classes.

After giving classes to the older students we got to go to a different building with Lauro"s smallest students which are only 5 year old! I think that it is very wonderful that they already start teaching children English at such a young age and the best thing about it is that the children enjoy it so much. I was so surprised when they started talking because they already knew a lot of stuff.

I could not finish that class because I had to go to the gymnasium in which the students from Lauro can do all sorts of activities after school. Maitane always goes swimming, together with her friend Uxue so I decided to join them. They swam 40 lengths in only 30 minutes which was a LOT so I could not keep up but it was alright.

After swimming we had to get dressed again which took ages since a lot of small girls (about 6 to 8 years old) noticed that I was not from the Basque country so they all kept asking me and Maitane questions which was nice, but it also took a lot of time to answer them all. When we got outside Maitane"s mother was waiting for us and we went home to eat a snack (which is still something I kind of need to get used to since we normally have dinner at 6 o"clock, but here they will just have a snack).

After that Maitane had to start her homework so I decided to do something for school as well so we can watch a movie tonight.

Bye! or as they would say here; agur!

Reageer op dit reisverslag

Je kunt nu ook Smileys gebruiken. Via de toolbar, toetsenbord of door eerst : te typen en dan een woord bijvoorbeeld :smiley

Joyce

Actief sinds 14 Feb. 2015
Verslag gelezen: 477
Totaal aantal bezoekers 5084

Voorgaande reizen:

15 Februari 2015 - 28 Februari 2015

International internship Bilbao

Landen bezocht: